Association of Major Power Customers of BC
AMPC - Association of Major Power Customers of BC

Image Provided Courtesy of BC Hydro

Energy in BC

BC Energy Policies

The Government of BC is made up of ministries, agencies and Crown corporations. The Electricity and Alternative Energy Division (Division) within the Ministry of Energy & Mines and Responsible for Core Review under the direction of the Honourable Bill Bennett is responsible for the electricity, alternative energy and energy efficiency sectors.

The Division is responsible for:

The Government of BC's current energy policies are detailed in the 2007 BC Energy Plan that was updated in the Clean Energy Act of 2010.

In June 2011 the Government of BC released its Review of BC Hydro report which included 56 recommendations to BC Hydro addressing BC Hydro's governance structure, BC Hydro's financial performance, policy implications and other matters. 

Electric Utilities in BC

Electric utilities in BC include:

BC Hydro and Power Authority

BC Hydro and Power Authority (BC Hydro) is a crown corporation and reports to the BC Ministry of Energy, Mines and Natural Gas.

BC Hydro operates electricity generation, transmission and distribution facilities and provides electrical services throughout the province of BC. Its facilities include 31 hydroelectric facilities and three thermal generating plants, totaling 12,000 megawatts (MW) of installed generating capacity. BC Hydro delivers electricity to its customers via a network of over 18,500 km of transmission lines and 57,648 km of distribution lines. Their transmission network connects with transmission systems in Alberta and Washington State improving system reliability and providing electricity trade opportunities.


FortisBC is a regulated private utility and provides electrical service to homes and businesses in the south central interior of BC. They have approximately 111,300 customers servicing the areas of Kelowna, Osoyoos, Trail, Castlegar, Princeton and Rossland. Through the wholesale supply of power to municipal distributors in the communities of Summerland, Penticton, Kelowna, Grand Forks and Nelson, FortisBC serves approximately 48,500 customers.

Municipal Utilities

BC also has several municipal utilities that provide electric services.

Nelson Hydro operates generation, transmission and distribution facilities in and around the City of Nelson. The City of New Westminster, City of Grand Forks, City of Kelowna, City of Penticton and the District of Summerland  operate distribution systems and purchase electricity from BC Hydro or FortisBC. 

Investor-Owned Utilities

Investor-owned utilities in BC include  Corix Multi Utility ServicesHemlock Valley Electrical Services Ltd.
and Silversmith Power & Light Corporation.


The British Columbia Utilities Commission (BCUC) is an independent regulatory agency of the Government of BC that operates under and administers the Utilities Commission Act. The BCUC's primary responsibility is regulating BC's natural gas and electricity utilities and also provides regulation of intra-provincial pipelines and universal compulsory automobile insurance.


Government of BC Ministries & Organizations
BC Ministry of Energy, Mines and Natural Gas and Responsible for Housing 
Electricity and Alternative Energy Division 
BC Hydro 
British Columbia Utilities Commission 
2007 BC Energy Plan 
Clean Energy Act